Garden Hand Tools Product Review Part 2 Hand Patio weeder/ scrapers

As promised in my previous post: https://stunningdahlias.wordpress.com/2016/04/25/my-gardening-hand-tools/ here I am going to review the garden hand Patio Scrapers and weeders

Since moving into my house less than a year ago I have bought 2 Hand Scrapers or weeders as follows:

  1. Wolf Garten Scraper (Jul 2015) £6.82
  2. Moulton Mill Stainless Steel Weed Knife (Sep 2015) £7.99

20160414_113835_resized

These Hand Scrapers cost less than £10. These tools are marketed for removing weeds and moss from between pavings. I have used both for this purpose plus I also regular use both for other random tough weeding tasks around the garden.

 

  • Wolf Garten Scraper (Jul 2015) £6.82

315922_Scraper

I found these scraper/weeder tools very useful, not just for cleaning patio stones, but also for other jobs around the garden, such as trying to dig out the soil around densely clumped bramble roots! This Wolf Garten tool was invaluable and the first time I had ever used a tool of this type, but as you can see from the photos, in less than one year the tool is very blunt and not very effective, and as I have previously said, I am not a fan of the design of the Wolf Garten hand tools ridged end which ends up full of soil, plus the tools seem to tarnish. However I do like the bright red/yellow design of their tools which make them easier to find 😀

 

  • Moulton Mill Stainless Steel Weed Knife (Sep 2015) £7.99

moulton-mill-weed-knife_l.jpg

Once The Wolf Garten Scraper started to become blunt after a month or two I bought a new Scraper from my local garden centre – this time from Woulton Mill. This tool was much sharper, I think I may have even nicked my finger, so do be careful when using this tool. However I loved this tool and wouldn’t be without it. I preferred it to the Wolf Garten scraper as its a simpler design so easier to keep clean and its much more sharper and effective. However even this tool has become blunt in less than a year – but that probably has a lot to do with my extreme garden which WAS full of brambles, pebbles, sand, concrete..after nearly a year or extreme gardening I feel I am finally taming the garden!

So in summary I would recommend a Patio weeder scraper, and remember you don’t have to confine their use to just their intended use, as they have been invaluable for a whole host of other gardening jobs including digging up the dreaded brambles! I am due for a new sharper model so will be purchasing another new model soon, so watch out for new reviews.

See my previous review on Hand Garden Hoe’s here:

https://stunningdahlias.wordpress.com/2016/04/23/garden-hand-tools-product-review-part-1-hand-hoes/

Next time I will be reviewing the following:

3. Part 3 Hand shrub rake

4. Part 4 Hand dibber & Widget

5.Part 5 Hand Fork and hand Trowels

6. Part 6: Hand Secateurs and hand Cutting tools

Leave a Reply

