Whitefriars 9566 stem bud vases

I have recently started collecting a new variety of stem bud vases which I love. They were made by the British company Whitefriars between 196o and 1980 I believe, until the company closed in 1980. I love their uniformity and classic elegance, I think they look modern despite their age, and I just love the fact they’re British as most of my other stem bud vases are most probably made in Europe. The pattern number of this vase is 9566 and so far I believe it comes in 10 colour as follows (message me if you know of more!):

  1. Artic Blue
  2. Ocean Green
  3. Twilight
  4. Flint (clear)
  5. Silver
  6. Aqua
  7. Gold or Amber
  8. Tangerine
  9. Kingfisher blue/dark blue
  10. Sky Blue

I think I have found the first 8 of these colours though it’s hard to tell if my 3 orange ones are different? i.e. I think 2 are Tangerine and 2 are gold? My aqua one had a bad chip. And I haven’t found the last 2 colours yet. I’ve also heard rumours of 2 other colours on glass forums, but seen no evidence to suggest these additional colours were ever produced before the factory closed in 1980.

Leave a Reply

