PART 3 – PROGRESS OF PURPLE GEM (CACTUS) & NATAL RED (POMPOM) – 5 MONTHS ON

5 months ago I purchased the following 2 dahlia tubers:

  1. Purple gem (Cactus) Dahlia from ebay.co.uk
  2. Natal Red (Pompom) Dahlia from Wilkinsons online.

Both tubers have grown great!

For Part 1:
https://stunningdahlias.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/17-apr-new-tubers-purple-gem-cactus-natal-red-pompom/

For Part 2: https://stunningdahlias.wordpress.com/2014/07/05/part-2-progress-of-purple-gem-cactus-natal-red-pompom-3-months-on/

 

1. Purple gem (Cactus) Dahlia

I love Purple Gem, possibly my best growing Dahlia this year and in my top 3 for visual impact. This will definitely feature in my garden next year and I would buy again from the ebay farm-shop I purchased this from. The only negative is it isn’t purple like the packet, but more of a pinky purple.

Here is Purple Gem growing in my garden.

This is what Purple Gem should look like according to the packet.

Dahlia_Purple gem (cactus)

 

2. Natal Red (Pompom) Dahlia

Natal Red Grew really well and produced tonnes of flowers. This will definitely feature in my garden next year and I will definitely buy Dahlia tubers from Wilkinson’s again.

Leave a Reply

